Thursday, August 13, 2015

Review by Marina: Just One Lie by Kyra Davis

The long-awaited follow-up novel to the runaway New York Times bestseller Just One Night—which Publishers Weekly gave a starred review and proclaimed, “Davis skillfully creates an uplifting story in which sex is presented both as freedom and as a metaphor for power, and where raw chemistry is the clear winner over bland complacency.”

In the instant international sensation Just One Night, sensible Kasie Fitzgerald unleashed her passions—and found herself—through an explosive affair. In Just One Lie, we meet Kasie’s wild and tortured sister, whose impulsivity and lack of self-control has set off a chain of events that changes her family forever.

Melody Fitzgerald is the opposite of the “perfect” daughter. The lead singer of an indie rock band, she is impulsive and creative, with a rebellious streak that both defines her and becomes her greatest enemy. Her lover, the enticing and unpredictable Ash, shares her free spirit and penchant for trouble. On the face of it, he seems to be her perfect match.

So why is she so drawn to her soft spoken, reliable drummer, Brad Witmer? How can a man who wears polo shirts and reads the financial section of the paper be of any interest to her at all? And why on earth does someone like that appear to be so captivated by her?

Before she knows it, Melody finds herself on a path of self-discovery, passion, and affairs of the heart. But will a dark secret from her past derail it all? Or will its exposure be the very thing that unburdens her heart and allows her to seek a future with the one man who loves her completely?

Add to Goodreads

4 stars

This is the first book in this series I have read and Kyra is a new author to me. I found it to be an interesting book. It can be read as a standalone.
Mercy has had a rough go of life especially in regards to her family. Due to some decisions she made, and being considered ‘dead’ by her parents, she becomes someone else, essentially wanting to leave her past behind. 
She is reunited with her ex Ash, who really frustrated me, it was a real on and off again relationship and they were not very good for each other.
To be honest the book dragged a bit at the start and I wondered when it would get better and it did. I found the last part really difficult to put down. Mercy is a lead singer in a band, she also has a few other rather unconventional jobs. Brad is the drummer in the band and they develop a friendship, I really enjoyed the way they got to know each other. I felt Brad brought her out of her shell more and she was trying to let go of her past, the best way she knew how. The way he showed her things, I liked the direction this book took with him.
This book is really about Mercy finding out who she is. She leaves her past and present behind to go in search of who is Mercy….but what she eventually comes to term with, is who really means the most to her and after many years…who does she go back to, where does she end up? Well you will have to read it to find out.
An enjoyable read, I really did love how it ended!!! 

Paperback copy received from Simon and Shuster AU for an honest review.

Kyra Davis is the New York Times bestselling author of the the JUST ONE NIGHT series, the PURE SIN series, the SOPHIE KATZ MYSTERIES and SO MUCH FOR MY HAPPY ENDING. Kyra now lives with her husband (lauded director, screenwriter and fantasy football advocate), son (proud science-geek and Hawaiian-Shirt-aficionado), dog (champion eater and guardian of the squirrel will dare set foot in it) and gecko (the gecko doesn't do much). 


No comments:

Post a Comment